30th B-Day – This is OUR YEAR!! – Tara

We’ll folks…I have hit the big 3-0

And I could not be more stoked! I know…everyone says 30 is the new 20…BUT IT’S TRUE! Sure, my 20’s were pretty awesome, but I KNOW that there’s so much to look forward to in my 30’s.

Don’t worry – this will relate to our PCT hike.

So Dan and I are both 30 now. I woke up to my lovely husband informing me that “Hey! We are the same age!” And in all honesty, I have been saying I’m thirty for at least 6 months now. It’s something I often do. Not really sure why, but I always seem to be a few months ahead of myself? Then when my birthday comes along, I actually have to think about my age – wait a minute – was I “ahead do myself” or was I actually 30 this past year and now 31? I know…completely weird.

Here’s my unopened B-Day gift from Dan, complete with a detailed map of the PCT on the front! (haven’t opened it yet, so no idea what it is)

But I am 30 (I think) and this is MY YEAR. OK wait…it’s our year. Dan and I have a lot to look forward to this year. And it’s so much cooler to be like “when I was 30…” as opposed to “when I was 29.”

I will spend a good chunk of the year being homeless and hiking through America for four-ish months. “No kids, your Father and I didn’t have a house when we were 30. Nope – no kids or even careers for that matter. But we were following a dream. We were grabbing an opportunity that looked too appealing to pass up.”

We only get one life. And I imagine some – if not most of you – would have no interest in hiking from Mexico to Canada. And that’s fine. I get that. But we DO want it. REALLY want it. So we’re gonna go for it.

A well known PCT hiker named Billy Goat, who is now in his 60’s, says “if you have to ask why, then you won’t understand.” I don’t completely know what I’m getting into, but I do know that I see the “why.” Or at least I have a “why.”

I want to hike the PCT to see if I can – to test my body, mind, and spirit.

I want to learn more about myself and have the time to be alone in my thoughts and emotions. To truly get to know Tara, away from the usual grind, in the wide-open wilderness.

I want to learn more about nature and God and feel connected to life. To be reminded that I am “oh so small” and there is a much bigger picture. No matter what you believe, I imagine you have experienced feeling finite and insignificant – it’s humbling…in a very good way.

And I want to spend time with my husband. We’ve been married for over 7 years now, and we are the absolute best of friends. We grow closer when we are in the wilderness – through the super-trying times, and the incredible highs. I wouldn’t want to share it with anyone else.

So here’s to being 30!! Let’s live it well hun 🙂

tara3-0

Here’s what the gift was! And yes…that is me trying to make 3-0…and it’s all wrong…

Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 30th B-Day – This is OUR YEAR!! – Tara

  1. I wish you the happiest of Happy Birthdays, Tara.

Leave a Reply

