PCT Video Part 5 – Washington!

Hands down, Washington was my (T-Fox’s) favourite terrain on the entire trail. Don’t get me wrong…she threw some challenges at us – grown-over trails in section K and cold, bone-chilling rains just to name a few. But she made up for it with her beauty and her character.

Washington felt like home. Canada was so close. As hard as wet-weather can be, we enjoy West Coast weather because rainforests are magical…the wilderness is ALIVE with lush and green vibrancy.

And I relaxed more than I ever had on the trail. Sure, we were cranking out long, gruelling days, but I felt so capable to do so! And Canada was SO CLOSE! With only 510 miles left in Washington (with 2150 miles completed), we had this thing. If I could go back, I would…in a heart-beat.

The entire PCT was unreal…better than I ever could have imagined. I’m not just saying that in a naive “those were the days” kind of way, but in an honest-to-God kind of way. THE BEST experience of my life to date. It’s hard not to feel a little depressed when I think back to the PCT. Here I am, sitting on my couch, watching videos from the best adventure/trip of my life. I was strong! I was outside everyday! I was LOVING life! How do you get that feeling back? How can I continue to make everyday like the PCT?

Sadly…I don’t think I can make everyday an adventure. Life goes on. Work has to be done. I say I would hike the PCT again in a heart-beat…but would it be the same? Should I keep reminiscing about those days and wish to live it all over again, or embrace today for the challenges, and wonders that she has for me? While hiking on the PCT, I kept reminding myself to “live in the moment” and soak it all in. I need to keep doing that. Live in the moment, even if the moment is going out for drinks with a new friend or walking my dog around a lake. Those moments can be just as beautiful and magical if I allow them to be.

It’s been roughly 10 months since we started the PCT. We’re in Victoria, settled into our jobs, and thriving as a couple. We try to explore The Great Outdoors as much as possible – camping, mountain biking, hiking, and skiing. Mother Nature is EVERYWHERE!

wash2

Backcountry skiing smiles!

wash3

Lorax hitting it…

Cheetah Giant in Pacific Rim National Park, BC

Cheetah Giant in Pacific Rim National Park, BC

Screen Shot 2015-02-22 at 11.16.48 AM

So while we may not be walking on the PCT anymore (boo-hoo), we are still trying to embrace the lessons on love, life, and adventure that we learned through that experience. Recently, we visited the Cheewhat Giant here on Vancouver Island – the largest known red cedar in the world. I cried when I met him/her. Started bawling like a baby. I feel more in-tune with nature…with life…with the complexity and FRAILTY of it all. You have to respect life that is thousands of years old…right?

Walk On,

T-Fox and Lorax

Sporting our PCT metals :)

Sporting our PCT metals 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to PCT Video Part 5 – Washington!

  1. janet Firth says:

    I have tears in my eyes as you hit your goal! Very emotional! and inspiring!

  2. Kyle Johnson says:

    Never met ya’ll, but I loved your video! It was great to see familiar faces like Friendrick, 1/2 & 1/2, and Carlos! I found myself smiling uncontrollably. Thank you for sharing such great and beautiful footage.

    R.R. Butters – PCT ’14

  3. Patrick Edward Dundon says:

    Dan, THANK you so much for your relentless filming and smiling, really. Once I thought I heard T Fox say that all the videos were the same, maybe so, but to US, the watchers, they are all great. Martha and I picked up a couple, Mud & Bug, this summer at Lone Pine and it inspired us so much. We are 60 and won’t do the PCT but we will keep walking. Thanks.
    Patrick

  4. I feel both your joy and gratitude for having done this marvelous backpacking adventure AND your sadness at not being on that trail right now. I have the same feeling as I look back at the backpacking trips my husband and I made, wondering if we will be able to get out there ever again like that.

Leave a Reply

